Is A White Lie OK ???

Recently someone was talking to me about white lies and quiet  firmly stated that all lies were wrong including white lies and at one time being a Christian I would not have hesitated to agree but as I looked further into the meaning of what a lie is in the Scriptures, it always refers to evil deception and sadly white lies can be included as these, yet there is good deception but perhaps another name needs to be found instead of deception or a white lie, maybe we could say Protection camouflage or cover over and we find this type mentioned in the Scriptures, but what is it.

I’m going to leave you a couple of  links, one is referring to lies of evil deception and the other one to Protection camouflage our new name for white lies which  we remember can also be evil deception.

 
 
We know many who  Blog use a Pen name like I do with  Freedomborn and this is not to deceive, with us it is the focus of our  Blog and means Freedom in Christ Jesus but a few have told me their Blog name is for  Protection, which was one reason why Ron originally joined me on my Blog, as I was being abused, slandered and back stabbed, most of this has stopped as far as I know but we still have a Hacker.  
 
We also see Protection camouflage  with Detectives, plain clothed Police and Spies both in Scripture and  elsewhere, especially during the War where some helped stop the Holocaust of  slaughter of the Jews etc  in Consternation Camps. Brother Andrew and his men and woman also smuggled Bibles into China and other Countries and covered over that they were in their bags. Families will sometimes not tell a family member they are dying, of course we may not agree with this but they feel they are protecting them.
 
We remember also Rahab the prostitute who covered over that she was hiding the Spies Joshua has secretly sent.
 
Esther hid her True Identity as a Jew when she married the King Xerxes and Abraham said Sahara was His sister and she was but was also his wife…. you may know of others as well. 
 
I hope this has answered those who have wondered about white lies, God knows our heart and He does not approve of evil for any reason,  so when we judge others remember God sees their heart and motivation we don’t,  which does not mean we don’t rebuke and warn those who are sinning but we do so in Love and for Love and by God’s Truth,  not with a fleshy agenda which  condemns without understanding but can also approve or condone what God calls evil, or is apathetic and just  looks the other way.
 
Christian Love from both of us – Anne.
 

About Freedomborn

My name is Anne although some call me Grannie Annie especially Children whom I share with in my Funday School . I live in Queensland Australia. I’m very much a People person believing we are all People of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free now.
This entry was posted in Messages From The Heart, Words of Encouragment. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Is A White Lie OK ???

  1. Good reminder, Anne. I like how you explain this: “evil deception vs. Protection camouflage.” This really helps put the heart and motivation in focus. God bless!

    Like

    • Thank you Pastor Joe for visiting and sharing. I first became aware of Protection camouflage with Rahab and than Amy Carmichael, what an amazing woman she was (link above) her Destiny shown from birth but not understood in her childhood.

      Do you know the good works God has planned for you Pastor Joe and equipped you for? Amy didn’t put it all together till later in her life, as her Story tells us, I know mine but I think there is more for me to understand so I wait on the Lord.

      I loved our sharing together Pastor Joe as friends, you are a very caring and understanding man, we all need to be heard and we all need to be needed.

      God bless you greatly – Christian Love Always – Anne.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Charisma says:

    Annie, I do agree there are circumstances where we need to protect someone … very good post, thanks for sharing … and thanks for realising how busy I get too 😀

    Warm regards

    Don

    Like

    • Hi Don, so good you appreciated the focus of this message, some have claimed at the time of writing that I was saying it’s OK to lie but it depends if it’s really a lie, of course evil is never acceptable.

      I do realize how busy you must be Don, I receive a lot of notification from your Blog and being on limited download I had to make your account weekly instead of daily but I keep tract now on my Reader and will respond to your messages as I feel lead.

      I’m sure you don’t agree with all I share Don as I don’t with you but I have been very encourage by some of your Posts, messages and yes the Sunsets too but in reference to you disagreeing with me, well don’t worry I was in error for many years too so I understand and don’t think bad about you for being this way.

      Seriously though, I said to one of my Bosses in my early Teens … I have you know I’m very intelligent and know everything, he looked at me with a lopsided grin and did not reply but no doubt was thinking “Baby you’ll learn” and I did, I made many mistakes and I’m still learning, so now unless I’m sure I don’t share. I also don’t agree to disagree but seek resolution, so Darling Boy please feel free to offer your doubts.

      Sorry Don for the mix up with Hun, I was not aware you were using it genetically, yes I’m showing my age, endearments to me are for those who we are close to in relationship, or in Spirit or both but than I have been known to call , the butcher, the baker and the candle stick maker, Love by mistake and I didn’t even get a free loaf of bread Lol!

      Blessings – Grannie Annie

      Like

  3. Very interesting and thought provoking, Anne! I like this line in your last paragraph best: “God knows our heart and He does not approve of evil for any reason, so when we judge others remember God sees their heart and motivation we don’t…” Well said! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for taking the time to read this Post Pastor Joe, no doubt in your Leadership position you have much responsibility and time is very valuable to you, so I do appreciate that you have commented.

      Yes we must never condemn others for their sin or judge their Eternal Destiny, they may come to repentance on their deathbeds or do we judge them with our own agenda, gossip about them or consider we are better than them, we have all sinned but we do rebuke them with God’s Truth. Not to warn someone when their sinning is not Love, when we sin we are in danger. I was rebuked by two friends when I was gambling, this was an addiction I had before going to Church, it was in my flesh. I didn’t like their rebuke at the time but later went and thanked them for their faithfulness and Love in being willing to risk our friendship to warn me.

      O course there are guidelines in the New Testament about the need to warn others and how we are to do it but Ezekiel 33 gives us a very clear picture why it is needed. We must never agree with what God calls evil, and even our silence pollutes our own souls.

      Thanks again , Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

      Like

  4. I thought I followd you the other day but WordPress was saying that I was not following you. Not sure what is going on. WordPress has been giving me some interesting quirks today.

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Hi again Russel , you and me both, WordPress are a ? sometimes but I think that some of their staff do try to help when they can. I received an e-mail yesterday that said WordPress are having a lot of Hacker problems, which my Computer Technician confirmed, anyway so you know Russel, yes you have joined up with us twice, Wow come on be honest, we really made a big hit with you didn’t we ? Hmmmmmmm well what about a little one, OK how about half a one, we will settle for a quarter.

      Blessings Annie

      Like

  5. ansuyo says:

    Most of those are not lies but not giving the entire truth. Is it the same thing? At least sometimes. Some day I may wish I had used a pen name!

    Like

  6. Ron says:

    Yes Anne I do like your Protection Camouflage as there were justified instances when not telling or giving the whole picture ,was justified. The examples you site were ones in point, Gods plans were for Rahab to be part of the lineage of Jesus.

    Blessing
    Ron

    Like

You are a Person of Worth, Share your Heart thoughts I value you and them.