The  Smell Of Rain

A cold March wind danced around the dead of night in Dallas as the Doctor walked into the small hospital room of Diana Blessing. She was still groggy from surgery.

 Her husband, David, held her hand as they braced themselves for the latest news.

 That afternoon of March 10, 1991, complications had forced Diana, only 24-weeks pregnant, to undergo an emergency Caesarean to deliver couple’s new daughter, Dana Lu Blessing.

At 12 inches long and weighing only one pound nine ounces, they already knew she was perilously premature.  Still, the doctor’s soft words dropped like bombs.

“I don’t think she’s going to make it”, he said, as kindly as he could.      

 “There’s only a 10-percent chance she will live through the night, and even then, if by some slim chance she does make it, her future could be a very cruel one”

Numb with disbelief, David and Diana listened as the doctor described the devastating problems Dana would likely face if she survived.

 She would never walk, she would never talk, she would probably be blind, and she would certainly be prone to other catastrophic conditions, from cerebral palsy to complete mental retardation, and on and on.

 “No! No!” was all Diana could say.  She and David, with their 5-year-old son Dustin, had long dreamed of the day they would have a daughter to become a family of four.

 Now, within a matter of hours, that dream was slipping away. But as those first days passed, a new agony set in for David and Diana.

 Because Dana’s underdeveloped nervous system was essentially ‘raw’, the lightest kiss or caress only intensified her discomfort, so they couldn’t even cradle their tiny baby girl against their chests to offer the strength of their love.

All they could do, as Dana struggled alone beneath the ultraviolet light in the tangle of tubes and wires, was to pray that God would stay close to their precious little girl. 

There was never a moment when Dana suddenly grew stronger.  But as the weeks went by she slowly gained an ounce of weight here and an ounce of strength there.

 

At last, when Dana turned two months old, her parents were able to hold her in their arms for the very first time.

 And two months later, though doctors continued to gently but grimly warn that her chances of surviving, much less living any kind of normal life, were next to zero, Dana went home from the hospital, just as her Parents had prayed for.

Five years later, when Dana was a petite but feisty young girl with glittering grey eyes and an unquenchable zest for life She showed no signs whatsoever of any mental or physical impairment.  Simply, she was everything a little girl can be and more. 

 But that happy ending is far from the end of her story.

One blistering afternoon in the summer of 1996 near her home in Irving, Texas, Dana was sitting in her mother’s lap in the bleachers of a local ballpark where her brother Dustin’s baseball team was practising. 

As always, Dana was chattering non-stop with her mother and several other adults sitting nearby when she suddenly fell silent. Hugging her arms across her chest, little Dana asked…

“Do you smell that?”  Smelling the air and detecting the approach of a thunderstorm, Diana replied…

 “Yes, it smells like rain.”  Dana closed her eyes and again asked, “Do you smell that?”

Once again, her mother replied, “Yes, I think we’re about to get wet. It smells like rain.” 

Still caught in the moment, Dana shook her head, patted her thin shoulders with her small hands and loudly announced… 

“No, it smells like Him.  It smells like God when you lay your head on His chest.”

 Tears blurred Diana’s eyes as Dana happily hopped down to play with the other children.

 Before the rains came, her daughter’s words confirmed what Diana and all the members of the extended Blessing family had known, at least in their hearts, all along.

During those long days and nights of her first two months of her life, when her nerves were too sensitive for them to touch her, God was holding Dana on His chest and it is His loving scent that she remembers so well.

 Did this Story touch your heart like it did mine? that was God reminding us that He holds us in the Storm and that He brings the  Rainbow.

  The Love of God has no beginning or end — It is eternal as He is eternal…

His Love  is unlike the Ocean, in that  there is no Height that it cannot reach or Depth that it cannot go,

 It always Trusts, always Hopes, always Perseveres, keeps no record of wrongs, never gives up and it never fails.

“Amazing Love!”

 Rest awhile now and sing this beautiful song in thankfulness to our wonderful Awesome King of Kings and Lord of Lord  whose Love is so Amazing for us.

Music- Amazing Love

My Lord what Love is this
That paid so dearly
That I, the guilty one, may go free

CHORUS:

Amazing Love oh what sacrifice
The Son of God given for me
My debt He paid and my death He died
That I might live

And so they watched Him die
Despised and rejected
But oh the blood He shed, flowed for me

CHORUS

And now, this Love of Christ
Will flow like rivers
Come wash your guilt away
And live again

CHORUS

My Lord what love is this
That paid so dearly
That I, the guilty one, may go free

CHORUS:
Amazing Love oh what sacrifice

The Son of God given for me
My debt He paid and my death He died
That I might live

And so they watched Him die
Despised and rejected
But oh the blood He shed, flowed for me

CHORUS

And now, this Love of Christ
Will flow like rivers
Come wash your guilt away
And live again

CHORUS

About Freedomborn

My name is Anne although some call me Grannie Annie especially Children whom I share with in my Funday School . I live in Queensland Australia. I’m very much a People person believing we are all People of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free now.
This entry was posted in Messages From The Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The  Smell Of Rain

  1. fgassette says:

    Amazing and uplifting post. My first grandson was born early and weighed only 1 lb 8oz. He lived 4 months, never leaving the hospital before he went home to be with the Lord. All those days and nights we were at the hospital, God strengthen and encouraged us. My grandson made an inpact on our lives and the hospital staff in his short life. As a result of his death my ministry Stand In The Gap was born. That was twenty years ago.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Thank you for sharing Francine, how wonderful that you could see God’s hand in strengthing you at your time of suffering and grief, it was not by His hand that your Grandson died as it is not His will we suffer when our Loved ones die, but He knows when they will leave us and prepares us for this time as we Trust in Him .

      My own babies died but I know they are in His care and we will be reunited one day. I would like to know more about your Ministry, Stand in The Gap, would you be able to share this with me either here or by e-mail or do you have a link, I would really like to know more about how God blessed you Francine through your grief as well as His strengthing you.

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

  2. Kate Kresse says:

    what a stunning and image rich story. thank you so much for sharing it. I. too, had a daughter that struggled until she found her way Home. http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/erin-go-bragh/

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Hi Kate thank you and yes there are so many wonderful stories on the Internet this one I received by e-mail, like you I lost my babies too but God has blessed me greatley by the Love of other peoples children over the years and I have a large family and some were already potty trained well and trully when they touched my life.

      If it’s alright with you Kate I would Reblog your Post about Erin, I’m sure many would be uplifted and greatly encouraged.

      Christian Love Anne

      Like

  3. To all I am reminded as I read this of how I was once in the same shoes. Born at 2lb 2oz. and told I would not live. Seeing those photos above reminded me of where I was 38 years ago and where I am now. I shed tears of joy not because of my condition then but because of my deliverance now. God is a deliver people. He is real. How blessed we are. I just wanted to share the miracle that lives, how could I not be a testimony for others?

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Hi Shenine, thank you for sharing your birth Miracle our Gods is Awesome, so many Babies are rescued by God’s compassion and Love but all babies and of course Children until they know right from wrong go to Heaven, God comforted your parents but had planes for you to be His vessel like others, to those hurting in the world, something that because of your heart focus will give you great inner Joy.

      God also intervened in my life even as an Atheist saving me from death 3 times and later when I wanted to kill myself He rescued me. As a Christian I have also been Miraculously healed 4 times all medically documented and like your Daughter unable to be explained and I have experienced signs and wonders which were witnessed, I’m not a Pentecostal or did I demand these from God. He knows those who are His even before we are conceived because He knows if we will come to True heart repentance or not, many will say Lord, Lord but Jesus will say go away you evil doers.

      I also asked for God’s wisdom with all my heart and He gave it to me and now I understand Scripture, even though I had read the Bible many times I did not see what I see now it’s like I was blind but now I see.

      Christian Love Anne

      Like

  4. Kana Tyler says:

    This story closely echoes my own daughter’s beginning–I named her Elena GRACE because it would only be through His Grace that she might stay with us. She is TWICE my miracle child, as she was also born deaf, but developed normal hearing against all medical predictions or explanations… http://kanatyler.com/2011/11/22/amazing-grace-how-sweet-the-sounds/

    Like

  5. Anne, the blood flows for you,me and the whole human race, how intimate a price paid for us. Now what shall we do? I know ,we shall praise Him as if tomorrow will never come. We shall uplift Him with song until Heaven breathe on us like the wind in the trees. We shall pray as if I our very soul depends upon it. And it does. We shall weep with joy for we are forgiven and our sins not remembered. We shall breath the name Jesus and cry out to the Holy One and say to Him as we fall upon the nail holes below. And without a peep will we say Lord, I trust you and it is your will I seek, while our tears washes His feet.
    Anne, I just love the Lord, and I love sharing Him with others as often as I can, then I share Him with just me, that personal intimacy. He is so merciful, and gracious to me. Never taking His love for granted. Blessings to you. I posted a prayer post earlier asking all to pray for the children, and special prayer for my son. Thank you.

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Dear Shenine, it’s so wonderful to hear your heart song, what a wonderful Heavenly Husband we have. I will come visit soon and respond to our need to pray for your son.

      Christian Love Anne

      Like

  6. T says:

    wow, I love this!

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Thank you T for visiting us and yes God richly blesses us with gifted writers who express so wonderfully their Love for the Lord, it is one reason why I have so much Joy in sharing their stories on my Blog and why I also enjoy Blogging too.

      I visted your Blog T how beautiful, so pretty in pink, I will enjoy reading more of your heart focus.

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

  7. Ron says:

    Yes Anne we have a wonderful God who loves to hold us to Himself and show us His love, thanks for the story.

    blessings
    Ron

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Very True Love what you shared, we do indeed have an Awesome, Amazing, The Great I Am of never ending Love who draws us to Him with Compassion and understanding, who heals our hurt and restores us into fellowship with Him.

      Do you know Ron as I have been posting your comments for you, I realised we express ourselves not exactly the same but in a very simular way, it must be because of 30 years of Marriage, perhaps that is why some got confused and thought you were wearing my slippers. 😀 never trust in uninspired evil imagings, there a dead end street.

      blessings
      Anne

      Like

  8. Truly, we serve an amazing God who gave His all to rescue me. How can my response be other than to love and serve Him? He demands my ALL and I give it willingly and it is only a very small portion compared to what He gave and continues to give and will give throughout all eternity.

    What an amazing God!

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Yes we do indeed Angela serve an Amazing God and how wonderful when He calls us His friends not just His servents, although in our heartas we willingly want to serve Him 100% and we also don’t want to hurt Him, so we choose not to and by the empowering of the Holy Spirit as we walk in The Fruit of the Spirit we put our evil flesh to death and are Born again and perfected in His Love, which is what Paul tells us to aim for, and so having the mind of Christ we never choose to hurt Him again.

      God understands our weaknesses and short commings knowing we came from dust and has compassion but He also sees us in the image of Jesus that we are being conformed to and even uses our mistakes for good.

      As you said Angela…. What an Amazing God!

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

      • Yes, Anne it really is wonderful to be called a friend of the omnipotent God – mind-blowing really, but even more mind-blowing is the fact that this God adopted me into His own family, making me His blood-bought child, and even more than that, He made me His heir, a joint-heir with Christ. [Romans 8:15-17] Now THAT is wonderful beyond words.

        What an amazing Father God!

        Like

        • Freedomborn says:

          Hi Angela I agree 100% God is Awesome, no one can change that and He knew we would come to heart repentance before we were concieved as He knows all things and so He chose us to be conformed into the image of His Son and so when we have put our evil flesh to death that causes us to sin by The Spirit and we are are Born again of God’s seed and so having the mind of Christ we don’t chose to do evil we walk as He walks without sin and so no longer hurt God or others … How good is that!

          1John 4:16-17 And we have known and believed the Love that God hath to us. God is Love; and he that dwelleth in Love dwelleth in God, and God in him. Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world.

          1 John 2:4-6 He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him. But whoso keepeth His word, in him verily is the Love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are in Him. He that saith he abideth in Him ought himself also so to walk, even as He walked.

          Ephesians 4:23-24 And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; And that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.

          Philippians 1:9-10 And this is my prayer: that your Love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight,so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ.

          Like

  9. It is not the wise and wealthy we should watch but the little children who remember being so close. 🙂

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Hi Annette so very True and Jesus said the same …suffer the Children to come to me for such is the Kingdom of God … Children have an understanding about God if not poluted by Adults thinking that is pure, they don’t question, they accept and this is why Jesus tells us we must become like Children not doubting His words. Everytime I ask Jesus for something like patience, or to help me forgive His words are refreshed in my heart and I remember Him saying ask and you will receive and so I do and I do.

      Thank you for sharing with us I find your words are always uplifting and food for thought.

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

You are a Person of Worth, Share your Heart thoughts I value you and them.