The Touch Of The Master’s Hand

 

 The Touch Of The Master’s Hand

 Twas battered and scarred, and the auctioneer thought it scarcely worth his while To waste much time on the old violin, but held it up with a smile:

 What am I bidden, good folks,” he cried, “Who’ll start the bidding for me?”

A dollar, a dollar”; then, “Two!  Only two?  Two dollars, and who’ll make it three? Three dollars, once; three dollars, twice; going for three – ” But no,

 From the room, far back, a grey-haired man came forward and picked up the bow; Then, wiping the dust from the old violin, and tightening the loose strings, He played a  melody pure and sweet as a carolling angel sings.

 The music ceased, and the auctioneer, with a voice that was quiet and low,

Said: “What am I bid for the old violin?” and he held it up with the bow.

A thousand dollars, and who’ll make it two?  Two thousand!

And who’ll make it three?

Three thousand once, three thousand twice, and going, and gone,” said he.

The people cheered, but some of them cried,

“We do not quite understand What changed its worth?”  Swift came the reply: 

 “The touch of the master’s hand.”

 And many a man with life out of tune, and battered and scarred with sin,Is auctioned cheap to the thoughtless crowd, much like the old violin.A “mess of pottage,” a glass of wine; A game – and he travels on.He is “going” once, and “going” twice, He’s “going” and almost “gone.”

 But the Master comes, and the foolish crowd never can quite understand The worth of a soul and the change that is wrought

By the touch of the Master’s hand.

  Myra Brooks Welch

 

About Freedomborn

My name is Anne although some call me Grannie Annie especially Children whom I share with in my Funday School . I live in Queensland Australia. I’m very much a People person believing we are all People of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free now.
This entry was posted in Messages From The Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Touch Of The Master’s Hand

  1. judipayne says:

    Hi. I am writing a book entitled “Prescription for Peace”. Could I please have your permission to use the picture of the violin on one of the pages of my book? Thank you so much. Judith Payne BScN, B.A. Psychology

    Like

    • Hi Judith, most of my pictures are goggled, or I have received them by e-mail from friends attached to the stories over the years. I’m not sure about the picture of the Violin, I received the message years ago but if you are going to make money by using anything from the Internet it is a good idea as you are doing to get permission from the original source. Google Violin that may help but if you can’t find it I’m sure you will find another one you can use.

      Christian Love – Anne

      Like

  2. Pingback: going once, twice… « sanctuary of my reflections

  3. Ron says:

    Thanks Anne good to be reminded that we are His to be used by Him that we could be made to sound beautiful. In my case thats a whole lot of work.

    Blessings
    Ron

    Like

  4. Freedomborn says:

    No Love, your really special already, I would say PRICLESS! no auction for you… but God will use you when your fined tuned not before, regardless of what others tell us.

    Christian Love Anne

    Like

  5. I thought you must be referring to this one Anne. A great reminder of what a difference can be made when we allow Christ to rule and direct us.
    Thanks
    Angela

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Hi Angela yes your words have much wisdom only in Christ Jesus when we are Born again of God’s seed is Jesus able to live His life out through us we are His Body and He directs us as He is our head and we have His mind and focus.

      Thanks for sharing Christian Love Anne

      Like

  6. 237blessed says:

    😀 Very beautiful

    Like

  7. Lady Deidre says:

    A precious post, Annie!
    God Bless You!

    Like

  8. isaiah43123 says:

    Beautiful post, Anne. And, if the violin were not accepting of the Master’s touch…
    Keep the Faith – but not from others!

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Hi Sis….. if the violin were not accepting of the Master’s touch??? for it’s entire life it would be broken forever in eternity but a violin that belongs to God will respond to His touch or He would not have been able to even get near to it.

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

You are a Person of Worth, Share your Heart thoughts I value you and them.