The “W” in Christmas

 The “W” in Christmas
Each December, I vowed to make Christmas a calm and peaceful experience. I had cut back on what I felt were non essential obligations – extensive card writing, endless baking, decorating, and overspending, things that I was doing not because of the Joy of the Christmas season but because I felt I had to.

Of course because my heart attitude was wrong I still felt  exhausted even with the little I did do and was  unable to appreciate the precious family moments, and of course, the True meaning of Christmas because there was no Joy in my heart.

My son, Nicholas, was in kindergarten that year. It was an exciting season fora six year old. For weeks, he’d been memorizing songs for his School’s “Winter Pageant.”

I didn’t have the heart to tell him I’d be working the night of the production. Unwilling to miss his shining moment, I spoke with his teacher. She assured me there would be a dress rehearsal the morning of the presentation. All parents unable to attend that evening were welcome to come then. Fortunately, Nicholas seemed happy with the compromise.

So, the morning of the dress rehearsal, I filed in ten minutes early, found a spot on the cafeteria floor and sat down. Around the room, I saw several other parents quietly scampering to their seats. As I waited, the students were led into the room. Each class, accompanied by their teacher, sat cross-legged on the floor. Then, each group, one by one, rose to perform their song.

Because the public school system had long stopped referring to the holiday as “Christmas,” I didn’t expect anything other than fun, commercial entertainment songs of reindeer, Santa Claus, snowflakes and good cheer.

So, when my son’s class rose to sing, “Christmas Love,” I was slightly taken aback by its bold title. Nicholas was aglow, as were all of his classmates, adorned in fuzzy mittens, red sweaters, and bright snow-caps upon their heads.

Those in the front row- centre stage – held up large letters, one by one, to spell out the title of the song. As the class would sing “C is for Christmas,” a child would hold up the letter C. Then, “H is for Happy,” and on and on, until each child holding up his portion had presented the complete message, “Christmas Love.”

The performance was going smoothly, until suddenly, we noticed her; a small, quiet, girl in the front row holding the letter “M” upside down – totally unaware her letter “M” appeared as a “W”.

The audience of 1st through 6th graders snickered at this little one’s mistake. But she had no idea they were laughing at her, so she stood tall, proudly holding her “W”. Although many teachers tried to shush the children, the laughter continued until the last letter was raised, and we all saw it together. A hush came over the audience and eyes began to widen.

In that instant, we understood the real reason we were there, why we celebrated  Christmas and not a holiday, why even in the chaos that we create, there was a purpose for our festivities. For when the last letter was held high, the message read loud and clear…

                                         “C H R I ST  W A S  L O V E”

Yes Jesus Christ sent as a man was sent in Love, and He is the Love gift from our Heavenly Father sent to save mankind and bring us into a relationship with Him for Eternity. He is God incarnate a gift of extreme sacrifice and Love and, as  we worship Him in our hearts He is the greatest gift of Love we can receive.

 Amazed in His presence, Humbled in repentance, Lifted by His Love, Thankful in Joy.

 

     Music – Joy To The World – Disney
   Joy to the world! The Lord is come;
    Let earth receive her King.
    Let ev’ry heart prepare Him room,
    And heav’n and nature sing.
   
    Joy to the earth! the Savoir reigns;
    Let men their songs employ;
    While fields and floods, rocks, hills, and plains
    Repeat the sounding joy.

    No more let sins and sorrows grow,
    Nor thorns infest the ground;
    He comes to make His blessings flow
    Far as the curse is found.   

    He rules the world with truth and grace,
    And makes the nations prove
    The glories of His righteousness,
    And wonders of His love.
     by Isaac Watts, 1719

 

About Freedomborn

My name is Anne although some call me Grannie Annie especially Children whom I share with in my Funday School . I live in Queensland Australia. I’m very much a People person believing we are all People of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free now.
This entry was posted in Christmas Blessings. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The “W” in Christmas

  1. Pingback: Thank You My Blogging Friends for Comments not easily forgotten. « Freedomborn

  2. Lady Deidre says:

    I love how a simple unknown mistake amplified the Glory of JESUS!
    Merry Christmas, Annie!

    Like

  3. pasmen says:

    This is awesome.”Christ was Love indeed!” My Christmas will be meaningful as I will meditate on this and share with my friends. Great Post!

    Like

    • freedomborn says:

      Hi pasmen thank for your kind words I really enjoyed your message too on your Blog, , I will visit you again soon.Thank you for accepting The King of Kings friendship award, it’s wonderful having a Spirit filled Brother who is very commited to sharing God’s Truth and Love.

      Christ-mas Love Anne

      Like

  4. What a great story! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. isaiah43123 says:

    Hmmm… that One Person is asking each of us to show others that difference. Are we willing? Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • freedomborn says:

      To quote you isaiah43123… Hmmme… will never be willing to do what God asks unless it comes from the heart and for it to come from the heart we need Christ in it.

      Christ-mas Love Anne

      Like

  6. Ron says:

    Thanks for the story Anne ,really good ,one letter making a difference. The joy that Christ brings is a world of difference.Cannot be equalled anywhere, he makes all the letters of our lives worthwhile.
    Ron

    Like

    • freedomborn says:

      Hi Ron, yes so True, just one letter, think of all the words that start with W… just to name a few…World… Wisdom… Wedding… one letter like us by itself amounts to nothing we need God’s Love found in Christ Jesus, we need to be United.

      Christmas Love Anne

      Like

You are a Person of Worth, Share your Heart thoughts I value you and them.