The Two Jugs Puzzle and Answer

Below is a Puzzle you might enjoy pondering on, it’s for all ages …

 There  are 2 Jugs…

 One Jug  holds up to 5 litres of liquid…And the other holds up to 3 litres of liquid… 

 

How can you get exactly 4 litres in the 5 litre Jug but not a drop over 4 litres and not a drop under 4 liters

All you can use is the Jugs nothing else, and to make it worse the jugs have no markings on them to measure.

 

 If you can’t work it out I have the answer for you below  but have a go we are often smarter then we think…or are we?

Below is the Answer to the Two Jugs Puzzle that you have been pondering on … 
 
 
 You fill the 3 litres Jug…    
 and pour it into the 5 litres Jug…
then refill the 3 litres Jug…
 and fill up the rest of the 5 litres Jug…
this leaves 1 lt in the 3 litres Jug…   
then empty the 5 litres Jug…
pour the 1 lt from the 3 litres  Jug…
 into the 5 litres Jug…
 refill the 3 litres Jug… and add this to the 1 lt in the 5 litres Jug, giving you 4 litres …
 
 
How easy was that!!!
 
 So glad they make Jugs with measurements on the side aren’t you!   
Posted for Lady Deidre who said the last Quize was too hard because she was not 3 anymore ! http://ladydeidre.com/2011/11/10/my-brother-conqueror-of-life-2/   
 

About Freedomborn

My name is Anne although some call me Grannie Annie especially Children whom I share with in my Funday School . I live in Queensland Australia. I’m very much a People person believing we are all People of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free now.
This entry was posted in Gifts to Friends, Quizes and Riddles. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Two Jugs Puzzle and Answer

  1. Freedomborn says:

    Hey me too Lady D, but then I have an excuse, not being able to do Maths is part of being Dylstic for a lot of us, but there are helps, still just don’t ask me to do the Budget again, first time I did one, I didn’t realise there was 5 weeks in some months, which was great it meant more Pension pays but it also meant more bills to pay, sadly I spent it before I realised about the more bills. Anyway next week I promise I will find a much eiser Quiz for you, no maths! but I’m going to try and find one today that will toss clever boots Ron .. he might be super clever, but believe me he is no genius, just smart like me 😀 by the way what is smart!

    Confused again – Annie

    Like

  2. Lady Deidre says:

    I Like Ron’s answer. He must be a mathematical genius. My eyes glaze over at the thought of doing math.

    Like

  3. Ron says:

    If you fill both jugs half full you will have two and a half litres in the 5 ltr jug ,and one and a half ltrs in the 3 ltr jug, pour the one and a half into the 5 litre jug and it will have 4 litres
    Ron

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Why are you always so clever Ron with these type of quizes, I had only just posted this and along you come with the answer or at least one of them, there are others that are also correct.. Wow I’m going to look for a real hard quize today just to keep you humble … clever boots!

      Thanks – Love Anne.

      Like

You are a Person of Worth, Share your Heart thoughts I value you and them.