Valentine’s Day and it’s real Meaning

.
It was not my choice to Re-blog this Post but when Posted it reminded me that God’s Love is sacrificial  and never ends, it’s Life changing and reflects Jesus Christ within us.
.
I hope you enjoy once again what the True meaning of Valentine’s Day is and that it inspires you to say to those close to you ” I Love You ” everyday.
 .
Blessings – Anne.

                           St Valentines Story

Valentine’s Day actually started more than 1,500 years ago.

According to legend, Valentine was a Priest who defied the orders of the Roman Emperor Claudius and continued to perform Marriages.It seems that Claudius realized no young men wanted to join his Army because they didn’t want to leave their Wives and Sweethearts. When it was discovered that Valentine was still performing Marriages in secret, he was sentenced to death.

Valentine allegedly cured the Jailer’s daughter of blindness, and on the night before his execution, sent a note to her signed “From your Valentine.”

 He reportedly died on Feb. 14, 269 A.D.

In 496 A.D., February 14 was named by Pope Gelasius to honour St. Valentine.

Of course there is the other Story…

Lupercalia. Held on February 15, Lupercalia honoured the gods Lupercus and Faunus, as well as the legendary founders of Rome, Romulus and Remus.


In addition to a bountiful feast, Lupercalia festivities are purported to have included the pairing of young Women and Men…  Men would draw Women’s names from a box, and each couple would be paired until next year’s Celebration.

 Others believe that Valentines Day is all about making Money…

 To be fair to our Shop keepers they are in fact meeting Supply and Demand as many people consider Valentines Day a very Special advent…

 To them It’s a time of remembering those who they Love and showing that they Care by giving them  a Card and gift expressing their feelings.

So to most People  It doesn’t really matter how Valentines Day first started  and to them it has nothing to do with a Pagan festival or an imprisoned Priest who continued to perform Marriages… It’s all about what is in their heart and…

They just want to say I Love you to Someone Special in their Lives.

 Below is a very Unique way of Looking at Valentines Day and a wonderful way to remember the Author of Love…

                For God so LoVed the world,
        That He gAve
             His onLy
             BegottEn
                SoN
                                   That whosoever
 Believeth In Him
Should Not perish
But have Everlasting Life

   John 3:16

 
                   
   I would like to take this opportunity to say to my Husband… 
 Happy Valentine’s Day…  I Love you Ron with all my Heart and always will and I want to let the whole world know.

.

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in Messages From The Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Valentine’s Day and it’s real Meaning

  1. Ron says:

    Thanks again for the history of St Valentine and for the Valentine wished from you Anne, loved all the colourful graphics too.

    Blessings
    Ron

    Like

    • I’m pleased Ron you enjoyed the History of St Valentine’s Day again, as you know it was originally Posted years ago, I’m not sure how it got Reblogged this time, it was not my intention, anyway I changed the song for ours and yes God’s Love never ends even if worldly love does.

      Blessings – Anne.

      Like

  2. Debbie M. says:

    God’s love never gets old. He still takes my breath away as I am aware of His presence in my life!

    Like

  3. bjsscribbles says:

    Checked out your new pick

    Like

  4. jmsabbagh says:

    Beautiful inspiration.

    Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

