The Target…..

Darts

A young lady named Sally, relates an experience she had in her Seminary class, given by her Teacher, Dr. Smith. She says that Dr. Smith was known for his elaborate object lessons.

One particular day, Sally walked into the College and knew they were in for a fun day.

On the wall was a big target and on a nearby table were many darts. Dr. Smith told the students to draw a picture of someone that they disliked or someone who had made them angry, and he would allow them to throw darts at the person’s picture.

Sally’s friend drew a picture of someone who had stolen her boyfriend. Another friend drew a picture of his older brother. Sally drew a picture of a former friend who had lied and deceived her, putting a great deal of detail into her drawing, even drawing pimples on the face. Sally was pleased with the overall effect she had achieved.

The class lined up and began throwing darts. Some of the students threw their darts with such force that their targets were ripping apart. Sally looked forward to her turn, and was filled with disappointment when Dr. Smith, because of time limits, asked the students to return to their seats. As Sally sat thinking about how angry she was because she didn’t have a chance to throw any darts at her target. Dr. Smith began removing the target from the wall.

Underneath the target was a picture of Jesus. A hush fell over the room as each student viewed the mangled picture of Jesus; holes and jagged marks covered His face and His eyes were pierced.

Jesus 41

Dr. Smith said only these words…

In as much as ye have done it unto the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto Me.” (Matthew 25:40)

No other words were necessary; the tears filled eyes of the students focused only on the picture of Christ.

Author Unknown.

Bible 0Mark 11:25-26 And when ye stand praying, forgive, if ye have ought against any: that your Father also which is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses. But if ye do not forgive, neither will your Father which is in heaven forgive your trespasses.

Ephesians 4:31-32 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger, and clamour and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

Luke 17:3-5 Take heed to yourselves: If thy brother trespass against thee, rebuke him; and if he repent, forgive him. And if he trespass against thee seven times in a day, and seven times in a day turn again to thee, saying, I repent; thou shalt forgive him. And the apostles said unto the Lord, Increase our faith

Matthew 5:43-45 Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy Neighbour, and hate thine enemy. But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; That ye may be the children of your Father which is in Heaven for He maketh His sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.

Holding on to bitterness and resentment pollutes us as the link below shows, it is a heavy load. Love and hate cannot co-exist, they are not in Unity we can’t have Love in our heart while ever we hate someone and without Love the Holy Spirit can’t fill us with the rest of His good fruit. Galatians 5: 22-25

 A heavy load-  https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2014/11/06/washed-potatoes-2/

Thanks for sharing this heart touching Story with me- Blessings – Anne.

.

.

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in Messages From The Heart, Words of Encouragment, Words of Warning, YouTube Presentations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Target…..

  1. secretangel says:

    Powerful message, Anne! Thanks for sharing. We all need a reminder sometimes. We have to forgive and treat others the ways that we want to be treated. God bless you!!

    Like

  2. Thank you Anne. I needed to read this today. The word that stuck the most, “FORGIVE.” The last few days, me and my wife felt somewhat disappointed and hurt because people we thought were our friends are not really friends and are talking bad things behind our back. They were there only when they needed us or want something or during the fun times. We can’t really escape seeing them as we belong to the same community. We know their smiles weren’t real but me and my wife still trying to be nice and reach out. So today, I will share God’s message with her, “To forgive those who hurt, use and abandon us. To forgive those who brought us misery through the years.” God showed mercy and forgiveness to me all my life. I should follow his ways and forgive as well. Thank you. God bless.

    Like

  3. T says:

    Wow I did not see that coming, this is a good lesson Anne. It really puts things into perspective, we can not hang on to anger and we need to forgive as we were forgiven. I hope you are doing well. I haven’t been online very much this past week and am trying to catch up on the blogs I like to read tonight, I am glad I didn’t miss this one.

    Like

    • Nor did I T expect the ending when I first read it and yes it was a bit of a shock to realize that we hurt Jesus when we hurt others even with holding onto bitterness and resentment towards them, we also build a wall which means God can’t forgive us. I remember when I was bitter towards someone, I had no peace until I forgave them but I had to first choose to forgive them and than I asked God to help me forgive them, we are good friends now and have been for 31 years.

      I have been very busy this week too T, meeting new Bloggers, one that you know too, her name is Beverly, a lovely woman, with a very sad story but she continues to Trust in God which is very good.

      I will be over to see you soon T but I was wondering, do you have some special messages you would like me to read? ones that have a lot of meaning for you and I have not commented on yet or just left a like, I know in the past with Blog and Computer problems I have missed a few, if it’s OK with you could you please give me the links.

      Christian Love always – Anne

      Like

  4. Thank you Anne for sharing the story. It beautifully illustrates bitterness and forgiveness which are overlooked even within the church. Just as the verse says, let us be kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you and above all we have the love of God which can enable us to do this.

    Like

    • Thank you Peter, I was just going to get ready to go out when I saw your comment and it is very True what you shared, everything we do must be in Love and for Love even correcting error and rebuking sin, it is not Love to let Satan get a foothold in someones life or to let them continue to be deceived, it’s apathy .

      I have been very blessed to meet Loving people Blogging and your one of them Peter which was very noticeable from the start, thank you for visiting and sharing your thoughts, it is very much appreciated.

      Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ron says:

    Yes that’s a good object lesson Anne , on where our anger and hurt really finishes up , on the lap of Jesus ! . He hears and reads our hearts cry, he wants to take our hurt and pain , He offers peace and refreshment when it all seems too hard , He would willingly put His face on the dart board of our life , so we could lay our all on Him , Thanks for the story .

    Blessings
    Ron

    Like

    • Hi Love good to see your new Computer is working well, thanks for the comment, no doubt you have a lot of catching up to do. I’m looking forward to seeing you today, we have too.

      Yes until we forgive we can’t be forgiven, a reality that some don’t understand, bitterness and resentment builds a wall that blocks God out.

      Some keep hurting Jesus, pushing the darts in deeper and twisting them by their bitterness and resentment towards others but when they come to True heart repentance as shown by their actions not just their words, He will has you said, forgive and heal.

      Christian Love Always – Anne.

      Like

  6. bjsscribbles says:

    Thank you my friend we have been studying that at Bible study

    Like

    • Hi B thanks for visiting and sharing it is always good to see you and I enjoyed our chat yesterday too, it’s good to know you have settled into your new home so well.

      Yes I have done many Bible studies over the years that have focused on forgiveness, it’s very important because until we forgive we can’t be forgiven, some say that they have but their actions or lack of them, show they haven’t.

      Christian Love – Anne.

      Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

