My comfy old pink Slippers…..

old SlippersI really feel comfortable in my old pink slippers, they have been worn in really well, it doesn’t matter that they are a bit dirty and that there is a few holes in them, because when someone else is around I put my new ones on…..

New Slippers I’m sure they wouldn’t appreciate my old slippers the way I do, to be honest, some say they are Yuk!

I was like this with my old sin Nature, I felt really comfortable with it, of course at times I felt guilt for the wrong I was doing and even asked forgiveness, trying real hard to do what I knew was good but sooner or later I would slip back into my old ways and continue to do what I had asked forgiveness for, after all it was easier than trying to do what was expected of me all the time, it was such a battle!

Yes I wanted to do what was right but I found it just too hard and after awhile I didn’t notice the wrong I was doing as much, it became comfortable like my old pink slippers, I made excuses, minimized my sin, even lied about it and so I continued to hurt God, others and myself, until one day I fell apart and having no support or so I thought, I decided I was not wanted or needed anymore, who could Love someone as Yuk as I was, I’m sure God couldn’t, you can read on the Link below how I was rescued by our Loving Good Shepherd .

Rescued –  https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2013/05/25/jesus-rescued-his-lost-sheep/

Does this all sound familiar, yes Paul had a similar battle with his Carnal flesh which he shares about in Romans 7 (see below)

Today I’m going to share God’s Truth with you by sharing mostly Scripture which is God’s inspired word,  it’s not fleshy Man’s understanding that is often shared by those who teach error sometimes knowingly, sometimes not, so please take the time to read the Scriptures, there are others  but let Jesus convict you through these that He has set you free from the Slavery of sin but first let’s look at how Paul overcome.

Romans 7 :14-23 For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am Carnal, sold under sin. For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.(K.J.V)

Jesus 07But Paul knew the answer to have Victory in his battle, he knew someone really cared and would help him to put to death his old Carnal Sin Nature once and for all.

Romans 7: 24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord.

Paul shared with us the need to put our Carnal flesh to death much more than once in his letters and so did others (see below) it is something we must all do, so we can be like Jesus in this world.

Romans 8:12 -15 Therefore, brethren, we are debtors—not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh. For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.

Colossians 3:1-17 Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming.You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived. But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.

2 Corinthians 7: 1 Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.

Galatians 24 -26 And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts. if we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another.

Ephesians 4:23-24 And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; And that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.

Jesus Set us FreeWhat is so wonderful is Jesus has set us free from the Slavery of our Carnal sin Nature so we can put it to death and Aim to be perfected in Love and not continue to sin,  when we are Born again we have God’s seed, His Spirit and having His Nature means we can’t sin, Jesus lives in us and He does not sin.

John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who Sins is a slave to Sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

Romans 6:11 Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord.

1John 3 : 9 No one who is Born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he Cannot go on sinning, because he has been Born of God.

1John 5:18-20 We know that no one who is Born of God sins; but He who was Born of God keeps him, and the evil one does not touch him.

Romans 6:22-23 But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto Holiness, and the end everlasting life. For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is Eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

Romans 8:1-4 There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus hath made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do, in that it was weak through the flesh, God sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, and for sin, condemned sin in the flesh That the righteousness of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

1 John 3: 1-11 ( 6-7 ) Whosoever abideth in Him sinneth not: whosoever sinneth hath not seen Him, neither known Him. Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as He is righteous.

1 Peter 1:21-23 Seeing ye have purified your souls in obeying the Truth through the Spirit unto unfeigned Love of the brethren, see that ye Love one another with a pure heart fervently: Being Born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the Word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever.

Daniel 12:10 Many shall be purified, and made white, and tried; but the wicked shall do wickedly: and none of the wicked shall understand; but the wise shall understand.

2 Corinthians 13:11 Finally, brethren, farewell. Be perfect, be of good comfort, be of one mind, live in Peace; and the God of Love and Peace shall be with you.

Christian Love in our Unity in Christ Jesus – Anne

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in A Good Focus, Messages From The Heart, Words of Encouragment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My comfy old pink Slippers…..

  1. Anne, thanks for sharing God’s love and forgiveness today. It is hard to get rid of our comfort slippers or spiritually, our old self. Sin presents itself in the most comforting, tempting way. It’s an addiction to all things worldly and of the flesh. Everyday we struggle to overcome it but everyday, we are reminded that God is love and merciful. For as long as we feel truly sorry and change, there is hope. My friend, God bless you always and your family. Have a great week ahead.

    Like

    • So very True dear Island Traveler, that is why God tells us we must put our flesh to death so it doesn’t have control over us or we will always keep fighting against it.

      You haven’t mentioned your work for awhile, I hope all is going well.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing, you are a very caring , faithful friend, your wife and son are very blessed that you are part of their lives and so are you to have them.God is so good!

      Christian Love Always – Anne

      Like

  2. Ron says:

    Thanks Anne I liked the analogy of the comfy slippers with the comfort of our old pre-conversion life. Comfort and the thought of change , makes us hesitant to discard what we know and are comfortable with . Fortunately when we change from our old way of life , to walk in a new way with our Lord; He doesn`t just leave us in that new raw state. He provides for us a Comforter , A Counselor, the Holy Spirit, this makes us look forward to wearing new clothes. Praise God !

    Blessings
    Ron

    Like

    • Very True as you shared Love and you more than anyone else other than God, saw a lot of my pink fleshy carnal slippers, they were very dark times for both of us, perhaps even more for you having to helplessly watch me partaking in a soul destroying Addiction which gave Satan a foothold and finally ended in me being in deep despair for the wrong I had done.

      But as you said God didn’t abandon me, He rescued me and than as I repented and chose to turn away from evil and do good The Holy Spirit empowered me so I could and as I look ahead I aim as Paul did to win the Prize which he won before he died just like others have done through the centuries .

      Christian Love Always dear – Anne .

      Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

