Update on Plagiarism and Copyright

Plagiarism and CopyrightDo people get too Shook up in regards to Plagiarism and Copyright…

Below this update * is a message we Posted previously about Plagiarism and Copyright the reason we have updated it now is because we have found with Christian Blogging that there is some confusion as to what it really means. We both believe strongly, that God’s Truth should be shared freely without worldly restriction and it is something that I also shared from the start of our Blog in September 2011 as shown in our About.

Ron affirms that there is no problem using what others have said in their messages or Devotionals as God uses all good things to strengthen and encourage the brotherhood of believers. Feel free to use the messages on our Posts to uplift and bless others, you will find there are many Authors including us.

Pastors and those who write Devotionals often share their messages without Copyright or the need to acknowledge their Authorship and this is because they believe like we all need to, that what they share is inspired by God and so those who share it are sharing His Truth not their own, it’s not about their glory but God’s. If what they share is in error it will be shown to be by the confirmation of Scripture not by man’s own fleshy understanding.

If we have doubts about who is the Author of what we share in reference to God’s Truth , than we should not be sharing our fleshy thoughts with others and when we do share we must always have the Confirmation of Scripture if asked, yes God gives us creativity in how we share but we share His Truth not the worlds.

Personally we think it is wonderful that Christian Pastors and Devotional writers share their God given heart thoughts with each other, with having different Congregations it means many more are uplifted and encouraged.

We can see great similarities in the Gospels, this is because they have the same focus and yet we also see their individuality too. Paul also shared many Truths from the Gospels as Jesus did with the Old Testament, this is why not just some parts of the Scriptures but all of them are inspired by God as we see in the Scripture below and this includes all Paul’s letters too.

2 Timothy 3:14- 17 But continue thou in the things which thou hast learned and hast been assured of, knowing of whom thou hast learned them; And that from a child thou hast known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto Salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. ALL SCRIPTURE is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works. (KJV)

.

.*Previous Post on Plagiarism and Copyright……

.

PlagiarismAre you in a Twirl in regards to Plagiarism/Copyright

.

.What is Plagiarism… Going by some people’s understanding, if we share or even e-mail a message or story or a saying, poem or verse or idea if it does not give a reference to who wrote it, we will be committing plagiarism even if we don’t claim we are the Author, this is not correct, it’s not just because someone thinks we have plagiarized, we need to have signed it with our name or claimed in some way that it is ours and if we have done this and it is also Copyrighted, we may be fined if taken to court and found guilty but many are not Copyrighted and so can be used freely.

We can’t answer for others, but we never claim unless they are that the Stories messages, poems, ideas we Post are ours and we correct those who think they are, this is also stated clearly in our About. But we don’t always mention when they are own compositions, so that they can be used freely without the need to contact us and this is why we don’t Copyright anything, we Trust God, we also don’t receive personal gain financially and we believe like everyone else we are answerable to God in what we share. But some do use what they earn to reinvest so they have the resources to spread the Gospel further as Paul did this with his tent-making.

We do correct error and rebuke or warn those who sin without repentance according to God’s word but not by our own fleshy understanding or others, we do so in accordance to God’s guidelines in the Scriptures and in Love and for Love but that is not Saccharin sweet worldly love, if needed we will get the whip out like Jesus did, not literally but we will be firm and to the point.

What happens when a Christian shares without citing the Christian who wrote it breaking Copyright , does that Christian then take them to court even though God tells us not to do this but that we are to privately resolve our differences and forgive others or should we as Christians who claim what we write is inspired by God not freely share but instead do as the worldly dictate, but then we do realize sometimes it’s needed to publish.

Thankfully some Copyright does not apply if what is used is not for financial gain but the material must not be claimed as our own or that is Plagiarism, as Christians we need to obey the rules of the land if they do not conflict with God’s guidelines.

Does God give us Scripture in reference to Plagiarism/ Copyright ? some claim Revelation 22:18-19 is talking about this but God was referring to changes being made to deceive, do we share messages to deceive others like false teachers or do we confirm everything with Scripture or do we Trust in our own understanding, logic, wisdom and reasoning or someone else’s, do we ask for God’s wisdom and seek Jesus Christ our only Teacher through the empowering of The Holy Spirit to teach us all things and do we have the mind of Christ and know what He knows. 1 Corinthians 2: 9-16

On this Blog ( see our About ) we have shared many stories collected over the years through e-mails there was no reference on most to where they originated but if there was we used it, we are still looking for some.

Because Checking on the Internet was very time-consuming and many times proved fruitless, it showed that some of the stories had also been used by others, and quiet a few times by different people but they too mostly had no reference as to who originally wrote them and some cited different Authors for the same message or Story . So can all these Christian men and woman be accused of having broken Copyright in their sharing Jesus Christ with others, if we go by the rules of the land and they were copyrighted by others, yes they can with some Copyright laws but not with all. What does God say….

Mathew 10: 7-8 And as ye go, preach, saying, The Kingdom of Heaven is at hand. Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out devils: freely ye have received, freely give.

So is God telling us that we can’t earn an income from sharing the Gospel, no we have that freedom just as Paul tells us in 1 Corinthians 9

We really believe what we have shared is God’s inspiration and not just our own understanding so we need to be willing to share it freely as it was given to us, this is what God asks us to do with all the gifts He has given us, we each make our own choices.

The world tells us we are to seek after recognition and financial gain, we are not saying these are prohibited but for many it is their only focus… God tells us as Christians they must not be our focus. Yes we are to encourage and uplift others but not to glorify ourselves or make money our god.

We can’t answer for anyone else but for us we now choose as Paul did a greater reward by not seeking to gain financially for ourselves or to seek for personal fame and glory from sharing God’s Truth and we trust God to provide for our needs, God’s work done in God’s way never lacks God’s supply.

Christian Love in our Unity in Christ Jesus – Anne.

 

 

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in A Good Focus, Gifts to Friends, In Memory and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Update on Plagiarism and Copyright

  1. I have enjoyed reading your thoughts on copyright. I believe copyright exists to protect two things: reputation (maybe ego) and money. There are legitimate instances of these things needing protection, but they involve important sums of money, and “important” people. For most of the rest of us–especially if we don’t make our living at writing– we should probably simply be grateful for an audience to share our work…..and feel quite gratified that they pass it on and quote us.

    Like

    • Thank you Cynthia for your kind words and your wise ones too, and for also taking the time to visit and comment, it is very much appreciated.

      I created a Power point for all of us who are over 50, I got the idea from one I received years ago by e-mail, it had some good points but I felt there was more that needed to be said about the quality of aging, I will leave the link below for you Cynthia in case you would like to see it, if you don’t have a Power point Program there is a link to download a viewer .

      Aging with Joy- https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/moments-in-time/

      Christian Love and Blessings – Anne

      Like

  2. T says:

    Here is something you may find of interest… Did you know that there are people who go around the internet taking other peoples un-copyrighted pictures and things and they then copyright them in their own name and then sue the person who the picture actually came from? Yes this is happening. I had a vacation company website which I paid someone to build for me. One day I received a letter in the mail from a law firm that said I was being sued for using pictures on my website that belonged to this person. They were suing me for $7000 a picture, and were suing me for 2 pictures that they had copyrighted. Thankfully the company who I paid to build my website had bought rights to use those pictures and was able to clear that up for me. But after that happened I decided to use my own pictures that I had taken with my own camera and I soon found out that once I put those pictures on the internet uncopyrighted that anyone could copyright them as their own and then stop me or worse yet sue me for using my own pictures, needless to say I took down my vacation website for fear of being sued for using my OWN pictures. Because of this if I ever use a picture that is not mine on my blog (which is very rare) I always make sure to credit who it came from. As far as my own pictures on my blog I don’t worry about someone taking and copyrighting since I am not making money from my blog but if I was making money on my blog you bet I would copyright them not to stop others from using them but to keep someone from scamming me by copyrighting my pictures and then suing me for using them. It is terrible but there are people who do that sort of thing all the time. I personally do not care if people use my stuff or share it and it honors me if they would think my stuff is good enough to share and besides God gave the gifts we should share them! hope that all made sense. I hope your still feeling better!

    Like

    • Yes T where there is money involved there are some very evil happenings, sorry to hear you were victimized. We have to obey the laws of the land but not those made up by man, so many fear copyright needlessly. As you can see in my About, if someone is upset because we are using their material, Stories, Pictures etc I will remove them but only in good will, I don’t have to.

      A lot of my Stories and Pictures come from e-mails I received over the years, I have no idea where they originated and don’t really care, the others are from Google, if they say they are copyrighted I don’t use them but most don’t. There are many free resources for pictures and animations which are not copyrighted but once again if you are not making money from the pictures etc then it comes under the common law license so I don’t worry. If you would like some of these links, let me know, you may find them helpful.

      Thanks for asking T, I did a lot of walking today so I do have some pain but nothing like what I experienced last week, but it was so good to be out and about again today with Ron, it was worth it, I love meeting people, all my friends including you were once strangers until they walked into my heart.

      Looking forward to your next Post T, until then Christian Love dear friend Always – Anne

      Like

  3. Ron says:

    I don’t think I have anything to add to what you`ve said on Plagiarism Anne, you have explained it comprehensively, it is as we talked about yesterday.

    Blessings
    Ron.

    Like

  4. You have a wonderful attitude on the matter. The million$ accrued by TV evangelists and the like for their own pockets enrages me.

    Like

    • Yes I understand how you feel Carl but also the resentment and bitterness some have in regards to those who they think are Plagiarizing is very unchristian, if God is the Author does it really matter who put pen to paper, is it all about man’s glory or God’s , when we glorify Him we also are being uplifted and the Treasure we will have in Heaven far excels anything we can earn on earth.

      Good to see you again – Anne

      Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

