The Masks…

I hope you won’t be fooled by me, for I wear a mask.

I wear 1,000 masks, masks that I’m afraid to take off, and one of them is me.

 I am likely to give you the impression that I’m secure, that confidence is my name and coolness is my game, that the water’s calm, and I’m in command, and that I need no one.  But I hope you won’t believe me.

 My surface may seem smooth; beneath I dwell in confusion, fear, aloneness.

 But I hide this, I panic at the thought of my weakness, and I fear of being exposed. 

 That’s why I frantically create a mood to hide behind, a nonchalant sophisticated facade to shield me from your understanding. 

 But such understanding is what I desperately need…

And I know it.

 If I don’t keep the mask in front of myself I’m afraid you’ll think less of me, that you’ll laugh, and your laugh would hurt me deeply. 

 So I play the game, with a facade of assurance without, and a trembling feeling within, and so my life bears a front; I idly chatter to you in suave surface tones. 

  I tell you everything that’s nothing, and nothing of what’s everything of what’s crying out within me. 

 So when I go into my routine, I hope you won’t be fooled by what I am saying  I hope you listen carefully to hear what I am not saying.

 I want you to know how important you are to me, how you can help me be the person I was created to be if you choose. 

 But it will not be easy for you.  A long conviction of worthlessness leads me to maintain distance. 

 The nearer you approach me, the blinder I may strike back. 

 It is self-defeating but at the same time it seems the safest thing to do.  I fight against the very things I cry out for. 

  But I am told that empathy is stronger than walls and 

therein lies my hope. 

 I desperately want you to understand me in spite

of my distancing tactics.

 I dislike the superficial phony game I’m playing. I’d really like to be open, genuine, spontaneous. 

  I want your help in doing this.  I want you to risk approaching me even when that’s the last thing I seem to want or need. 

 I want this from you so I can feel safe to be me. 

 Each time you are kind and gentle and encouraging, each time you try to understand because you really care, my courage to risk sharing myself with you increases.

Shortened from Original- Please Hear What I’m Not Saying by Charles C. Finn

 We all need to be Loved, wanted and appreciated even if we are afraid to show our True feelings or to express these Needs.

 We remember that Hurt People Hurt People, and Themselves. 

 So we show Kindness and Compassion and always Care enough to warn in Love and always in honesty share.

We all need to know its safe to be who we are even if others don’t understand where we are. 

 

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in Messages From The Heart, Words of Encouragment. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Masks…

  1. ansuyo says:

    It’s sad, but so many of us feel this way. If only we realized it is a common human condition. That person I fear to show my real self is just as afraid of me. Angie

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      True Angie, but how wonderful that in Christ Jesus we don’t have to fear ( see Scripture below ) we can indeed be ourselves, will we always be accepted and approved of …was Jesus, thank you for being you Angie, I Love you in The Lord… Don’t forget your Power point, hopfully I will have a chance to create some next week.

      1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

  2. Ron says:

    Sad as it may be Anne but many wear those masks at times, so as you say masks makes them feel safe but their not being real and it shows fear and leaves one unsure if others are genuine when they feel they can’t be themselves, maybe though they have something to hide but still want to be accepted by everyone.

    Blessings
    Ron

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Hi Love, very True what you shared, that is why most wear a mask and sadly they reject or feel uncomfortable with others who are real, it’s the flesh nature which we have to put to death, it seeks to conceal evil, like the Pharisees who promoted Integeraty but were dishonest themselves, Jesus told them He Loved them and we must Love others who do wrong but Jesus did not agree with the wrong they did and rebuked them in Love and for Love and very firmly as you know.

      Christian Love Anne

      Like

  3. T says:

    This is really really good. I myself wore a mask for several years only recently I have I began to take it off with the help of Jesus. when I find myself begin to put on the mask I try to remind myself I am performing to an audience of one. Thank you for sharing this and Gods blessings to you 🙂

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      I love your honesty T and have from the first time I blogged with you, I knew you were real. People say about me, you get what you see, I’m very transparent, if I’m happy you know it, if I’m sad etc combine that with being very passionate and focused and not afraid to make myself vulnerable, with limits of course, then to some, I’m over the Top but I would rather be this way then wear the mask of being Happy Clappy Annie, that I wore for many years, I was popular and accepted, always saying what others wanted to hear and giving them a good laugh but I was very lonely, very lonely indeed, now I can laugh with others too …. Thanks for being you!

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

