For My Sister

 This is a true story of a little boy whose sister needed a blood transfusion.  The doctor explained that she had the same disease the boy had recovered from two years earlier.  Her only chance of recovery was a transfusion from someone who had previously conquered the disease.  Since the two children had the same rare blood type, the boy was an ideal donor.

 “Would you give your blood to Mary?” the doctor asked.  Johnny hesitated.  His lower lip started to tremble.  Then he smiled and said, “Sure, for my sister”.

Soon the two children were wheeled into the hospital room.  Mary, pale and thin.  Johnny, robust and healthy.  Neither spoke, but when their eyes met, Johnny grinned.  As the nurse inserted the needle into his arm, Johnny’s smile faded.  He watched the blood flow through the tube.

 With the ordeal almost over, Johnny’s voice, slightly shaky, broke the silence.

“Doctor, when do I die?”

 Only then did the doctor realize why Johnny had hesitated, why his lip had trembled when he agreed to donate his blood. 

He thought giving his blood to his sister would mean giving up his life. 

In that brief moment, he had made his great decision.

By David C. Needham, from Close To His Majesty.

Do we wonder what we would do if we were in the same situation as this Brother, would we agree, some feel that unless we are confronted with something we don’t know how we will respond, but thankfully the Scriptures tell us something different and we can see that it is confirmed in the lives of many Christians in the Persecuted Church today, they are willing like this Brother to give up their lives for their best Friend Jesus Christ without counting the cost. How wonderful that it is not us who will stand firm to the end, because we can’t not in ourselves, only as we surrender to the Lord and Trust Him and believe that He empowers us can we have Victory in all things. The wonderful promise that the Lord gives us and we can always hold onto is … no matter what happens He will be with us and Strengthen us, so we will be able to overcome any trouble or danger that we may encounter even the threat of death or death.

We can see this Truth in The Apostle Peter’s life, before Pentecost he denied Jesus and the remaining Disciples also fled, but after when empowered by the Holy Spirit, Peter and the others  were willing to die for Him as were many believers in the early Church and so it is today.

1 Corinthians 1: 8- 9 He will keep us strong to the end, so that we will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. God, who has called us into fellowship with His Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is faithful in all things.
 
 John 16:33 I have told you these things, so that in me you may have my Peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart!  I Jesus Christ have overcome the world.”  

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in Messages From The Heart, Words of Encouragment. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For My Sister

  1. A great illustration Anne. I used this same story in April last year – http://meetingintheclouds.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/an-act-of-love/

    David Needham added a different lesson. Thanks for posting it.

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Thanks Angela for sharing, I will have to try and find a story you have not read but being an Aussie most of them you will have seen before but I know your like me you enjoy reading them again and I did add a differant message at the end which I always try to do. Christian Love Anne.

      Like

  2. Ron says:

    What a brave little boy knowing his understanding of what he thought he was doing. Jesus looked down at sinful humanity and saw what they needed to live ,and said take my blood for them. Hallejuh what a wonderful Saviour !
    Ron

    Like

  3. Lady Deidre says:

    What a precious big brother! I’m glad we have Jesus as a big brother to see us through to the end.
    God Bless You!

    Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

