Green and Gold Malaria

 
 
 
 
                                                                                 The Australian Flags
 
    
        New South Wales              Victoria                    Queensland               
 
    South Australia             Western Australia               
 
    
         Tasmania                    Northern Territory           Capital Territory   

        

        Aboriginal                     Au-Eureka Stockade

 
 
 
        Green and Gold Malaria

The day would soon arrive when I could not ignore the rash,

I was obviously ill and so I called on Doctor Nash.

This standard consultation would adjudicate my fate,

I walked into his surgery and gave it to him straight.

“Doc, I wonder if you might explain this allergy of mine You see –

I get these pins and needles running up and down my spine,

From there, across my body, it will suddenly extend,

My neck will feel a shiver and the hairs will stand on end,

And then there is that symptom that a man can only fear

It’s a choking in the throat and the crying of a tear.”

Well, the doctor scratched his melon with a rather worried look,

His furrowed brow suggested that the news to come was crook.

“What is it Doc?” I motioned “Have I got a rare disease,

I’m man enough to cop it sweet so give it to me please.”

“Well I’m not too sure” he answered, in a puzzled kind of way,

“It seems you’ve got some kind of fever but it’s hard for me to say.

When is it that you feel this most peculiar condition?”

I thought for just a moment and then I gave him my position.

“Doc, I get it when I’m standing in an Anzac Day parade,

And I get it when the anthem of our native land is played,

And I got it back in 91 when Farr-Jones held the Cup,

And I got it when Japan was stormed by Better loosen Up,

I get it when the Banjo takes me down the Snowy River,

And Matilda sends me waltzing with a billy boiling shiver,

It hit me hard when Sydney was awarded with the Games,

And I get it when I see our farmers fighting for their names,

It flattened me when Bertrand raised the Boxing Kangaroo,

And when Perkins smashed the record, well, the rashes were true blue.

So tell me Doc” I questioned “Am I really gonna die?”

He broke into a smile before he looked me in the eye,

As he fumbled with his stethoscope and pushed it out of reach

He wiped away a tear and then he gave this stirring speech:

“From the beaches here in Queensland to the sweeping shores of Broome

On the Harbour banks of Sydney where the Waratah’s in bloom,

From Uluru at sunset to the mighty Tasman Sea,

In the Adelaide cathedrals, at the roaring MCG,

From the Great Australian Bight up to the Gulf of Carpentaria,

The medical profession call it ‘Green and Gold Malaria.’

But forget about the textbooks son, the truth I shouldn’t hide

The rash that you’ve contracted here,

I’m afraid that you were born with it and one thing is for sure

You’ll die with it young man because there isn’t any cure.”

 by Rupert McCall

 

 Lets Give Thanks To God for our Wonderful Countries and

those who live in them.

  

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in Interesting and Unusual. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green and Gold Malaria

  1. Ron says:

    Thank you for that Rupert McCall poem i love it and i get the same rash for all those reasons too , as Autraliams ,there is no better country !! He has an article every week in the Sunday Mail .
    Ron

    Like

  2. freedomborn says:

    Hi Dru great idea, I’ll come with you, we will have a ball, you do the cooking ..ok, ok I will cook the fish and I will also relax and unwind from blogging American Style, while you drive, sounds good to me what about you ??? 😀

    Love Ya! your friend Annie

    Like

  3. Very nice, Annie. Makes me want to get on Google maps and ‘walk’ the places mentioned here. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

