Thanksgiving?

 
One Thanksgiving season a family was seated around their table, looking at the annual holiday bird. From the oldest to the youngest, they were to express their praise.
 
When they came to the 8-year-old in the family, he began by looking at the turkey and expressing his thanks to the turkey, saying although he had not tasted it he knew it would be good.
 
After that rather novel expression of thanksgiving, he began with a more predictable line of credits, thanking his mother for cooking the turkey and his father for buying the turkey. But then he went beyond that. He joined together a whole hidden multitude of benefactors, linking them with cause and effect.

He said, “I thank you for the Checker at the grocery store who checked out the turkey. I thank you for the grocery store people who put it on the shelf. I thank you for the farmer who made it fat. I thank you for the man who made the feed. I thank you for those who brought the turkey to the store.”

Using his Columbo-like little mind, he traced the turkey all the way from its origin to his plate. And then at the end he solemnly said “Did I leave anybody out?”

His 5-year-older brother, embarrassed by all those proceedings, said, “God.”

Solemnly and without being flustered at all, the 8-year-old said,”I was about to get to Him.”

 
Thank you mtsweat  for reminding us who to Thank… http://mtsweat.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/pot-pie-possum-a-toy-and-a-story/
 

 

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in Gifts to Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanksgiving?

  1. Ron says:

    Nice idea of the little boy to name people who have contributed to his life.We dont often remember the main people in our lives that add to our joyand pleasure. Agood wake up call to include many more in our daily thanks.
    Ron

    Like

  2. Whoso offereth praise glorifieth me: and to him that ordereth his conversation aright will I shew the salvation of God. – Psalm 50:23 Great post Anne. The book of James says – Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning. – James 1:17 We should always remember everything we have came from God and praise him for it. I like Mikes comment as well.

    Like

  3. mtsweat says:

    Thank you Anne. May we never forget the True Provider. Your post causes me to remember the words from another site. “What if I woke up tomorrow with only what I thanked God for today?” God bless, friend.

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Wow! that hit home mtsweat… do you think you can lead me a toothbrush, some soap, a cloths line, a good sized letter box, a mop and bucket etc … I don’t need a Computer, any Food, You or any of my other Blogging friends, Ron and the rest of my friends and family or my M and M’s, and Top priority God… I got them all covered … BUT IT DOES STOP AND MAKE YOU THINK!

      Thanks again Mike – Christian Love Anne.

      Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

