October Is Breast Cancer Awareness Month ( In Memory )

Two years ago in October  my beautiful Sister Julie died of Cancer she was  58 six months older than me and before I was adopted  we became  friends, I remember following her home from School because I thought she was so nice, she had such a beautiful, warm smile.  Julie married a few months before she died,  she helped others in her life to feel wanted and raised money to help support those in need but sadly she left her Childhood faith in Jesus and went  in the wrong direction the same as I did but before she died Jesus our Lord and Saviour rescued her and in thankfullness she asked for the Old Rugged Cross to be played at her funeral.

The following Story is in remembrance of all we shared together the good times and the bad … I Love you Julie, thanks for being my friend when nobody else wanted to, I look forward to being with you again, not just for a few years but for ever.

The Wedding

 On  Saturday January 15, 2005 Katie Kirkpatrick, 21 Married Nick Godwin, 23, who was in Love with her since 11th grade.

  Katie  held off Lung Cancer to celebrate the happiest day of her life. To Breath was difficult for her and so she had to use oxygen. The pain in her back was so intense that even Morphine gave little relief as Katie’s organs were shutting down, 
but it would not stop her from Marrying her  Nick.
  
 
Katie seeing a photograph of herself when she was Homecoming Queen
at High School remembers a time when Cancer was not part of her life
but Nick is always there for her and this comforts Katie.
 
 
 
 Katie and Nick wait for the nurse to come and start Katie’s treatment, although Nick works night shift he still takes Katie to the Medical centre after
 finishing work.  Three days before their Wedding Katie is tired
from not being able to sleep at night because of her pain.
 
 
Nick  takes a moment of rest while Katie gets an intravenous procedure
 to reduce the amount of fluids her body is retaining.
 
 
 Her Mum Niki takes time of work to care for Katie who now needs
 constant assistance 
 
 
 Katie now experiencing a lot of pain only a few days before her Wedding
  relies on Morphine and other medications to help her.
 
 
Katie happily puts on some earrings knowing in a few moments she
 will be walking down the aisle to Marry Nick at the
Church of Christ in Hazel Park.
 
 
  Dave and Nicki welcome  Nick their new Son In Law right after
 Nick and Katie were married.
 
 
Katie and Nick  spend some precious moments together 
after the wedding.
 
   
    Katie gets serenaded by Nick and his best man during
the Wedding party and her Joy overshadows the
   Pain for a short time.
 
 
 Taking  time out to rest during her Wedding party, Katie is exhausted
and in pain but her heart is full of Joy.
 
 
 After Marrying  Nick her High School sweetheart, Katie lived only five more days .  She leaves rich memories of her Courage and Hope in face of 
overwhelming suffering and pain… 
 
Katie and Nick did not give up but held onto the Hope that they had a future
which could not be calculated in terms of Days or Hours but in the fullness
of realising their Dream and rejoicing that it became a reality…
 
 Their Love lives on… for every Heart that remembers a flam burns
 bright and no amount of time can dim the light.
 
Lets light a Candle of Hope by taking time out to Pray for all those suffering Terminal illness and for their Loved ones and lets also seek to give
 of our time and resources.

 “A Candle loses nothing if it is used to light another one… So as we light someone else’s candle our flame will also burn brightly too.

 

 
Music – Memories              

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in In Memory. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to October Is Breast Cancer Awareness Month ( In Memory )

  1. Pingback: Thank You My Blogging Friends for Comments not easily forgotten. « Freedomborn

  2. Thank you for sharing this Anne. I too remember this story. My heart goes out to you over your loss as well as the other people in the family ( including friends ) who continue on in this life remembering her. My prayers are with the young woman who was called home in the story above. God bless and comfort those she left behind as well. Thank you Lord for giving peace in the middle of a storm that surpasses all understanding. I pray for all who battle cancer of all types. May their salvation be with You and their rest of trust in the abundance of Your
    Love……

    Terra

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Thank you Terra for your kind and Loving words of compassion and yes it is a beautiful Story, it reminds me it’s not about the quantity of time we spend with others but the quality.

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

  3. Annie, Thanks for sharing this. My dad died from cancer 20 years ago. They had done surgery, telling us they got it all and he was fine. Then a year later, they could not figure out why his lungs kept filling with fluid. They did test after test but did not find anything — until it was too late. Then they told him to go home, there was nothing else they could do for him. It had spread through his whole body. Instead of prolonging the inevitable, he stopped eating and eventually died, a couple months later, rail thin and in a coma. I posted a blog back in August about the last time I visited with him — the night before he died. It was terrible watching him waste away; but you are right — the good memories outweigh the bad and should be cherished

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Dear Drusilla, It’s hard to say goodbye to someone we Love and very painful to see them waste away. Julie also lost her appetite and wouldn’t eat, it is common with Cancer suffers because all senses are dulled including appetite, this is because of the treatment and pain control medication and also depending on the serverity of the condition and how long they have had it.

      Thank you for sharing Drusilla that regardless there are always happy memories to look back on and as you know we have Eternal Hope for the future when we all will be united. We also remeber we never go through suffering alone, The Lord is always with us and He holds our hand and cries with us and catches our tears in His heart of Love and replaces them with tears of Joy.

      Take Care my dear friend in Jesus – Christian Love Anne.

      Like

  4. Freedomborn says:

    Hi mtsweat, thank you for your kind words, I didn’t really understand what Julie went through fully and it won’t be remembered in Heaven so I never will… but about 6 months after Julie died they found I had a lump in my breast which was suspected Cancer, as they could not book me in for the tests till the end of the week it meant I had to go through the waiting time and as Julie had died only recently my fears were increased and to some degree I then understood some of what she and others must experience in their waiting time, On the Thursday in my prayers I said to God if it is my time I’m ready to go but with all my heart I want to help others know what you have taught me, but I’m ready to do what you want one way or another…

    I knew God could Miraculously heal me because he had done so more than once before and I also knew He could use His gift of Medicine but I was willing either way to live here on earth or go to Heaven and that night I slept peacefully and was very calm during the Monogram and X-ray but the lump had disappeared as had my other conditions before, so once again God blessed this woman that had hurt Him so much and allowed me to do what is my hearts desire which is to reach out to others with His Truth bringing Hope and Freedom. Those who have known me for many years, have witnessed God’s Intervention in my life in amazing and wonderful ways and they thank God for His unconditional Love… this is because I don’t think I’m better then others, perhaps worse but God gave me more grace because it was needed. Can we ever doubt God’s Love and Mercy, or put Him in a box of our own understanding.

    Thanks again mtsweat – Christian Love Anne.

    Like

  5. mtsweat says:

    What a wonderful remembrance of your sister and to all those who have faced and walked (and are facing and walking) through this preying disease. Thanks for reminding us Anne, there is much to pray for, and many to comfort and encourage. God bless you friend.

    Like

    • Sorry Mike, you may never have received this reply to your caring comment, being new to Blogging at the time I Posted it in the wrong place as you can see above, I just found it , thank you again…..

      Hi mtsweat, (Mike ) thank you for your kind words, I didn’t really understand what Julie went through fully and it won’t be remembered in Heaven so I never will… but about 6 months after Julie died they found I had a lump in my breast which was suspected Cancer, as they could not book me in for the tests till the end of the week it meant I had to go through the waiting time and as Julie had died only recently my fears were increased and to some degree I then understood some of what she and others must experience in their waiting time, On the Thursday in my prayers I said to God if it is my time I’m ready to go but with all my heart I want to help others know what you have taught me, but I’m ready to do what you want one way or another…

      I knew God could Miraculously heal me because he had done so more than once before and I also knew He could use His gift of Medicine but I was willing either way to live here on earth or go to Heaven and that night I slept peacefully and was very calm during the Monogram and X-ray but the lump had disappeared as had my other conditions before, so once again God blessed this woman that had hurt Him so much and allowed me to do what is my hearts desire which is to reach out to others with His Truth bringing Hope and Freedom. Those who have known me for many years, have witnessed God’s Intervention in my life in amazing and wonderful ways and they thank God for His unconditional Love… this is because I don’t think I’m better then others, perhaps worse but God gave me more grace because it was needed. Can we ever doubt God’s Love and Mercy, or put Him in a box of our own understanding.

      Thanks again mtsweat – Christian Love Anne.

      Like

  6. Lady Deidre says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your sister.
    God Bless You, Dei

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Thank you Dei for your kind words, Julie is in my heart and I have some wonderful memories that will also stay there and they block out the sad ones.

      Thanks for visiting -Christian Love Anne

      Like

  7. Velta Maes says:

    Cancer is such a terrible disease. It cares not about age or gender but takes its toll on . How much we need God’s Kingdom to heal the nations of this dreadful disease.

    Gramma Velta

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Dear Gramma Velta, very True what you say, Cancer and all sickness and death causes much suffering and heartache and this is not of God but is part of a fallen world, yet even in these dreadful happenings, God will bring it all together for good, He promises us that and He always keeps His word.

      Love and hugs Gramma Velta – Anne

      Like

  8. Ron says:

    I hadn`t seen that story for some time ,thanks for reminding us of how precious life is and how moments of happiness ,make up for all the sadness. Without a faith in Jesus all of life would be sad!
    Ron

    Like

    • Freedomborn says:

      Hi Ron, yes even if we have sadness we still have God’s Joy in our heart and know without a doubt as we focus on the Lord all things will work together for good because we Love and obey Him. As they say every cloud has a silver lining that always shines through the darkness, when we are in Christ Jesus He is our umbrella and protects us from the full fury of the Storm … How wonderful to be called a Child of The Most High King our Lord of Lords..

      Thank you Ron it is always good to see you and to have your encouragement.

      Christian Love Anne

      Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

