Touching Souls

 

 May this story touch your Heart…

I showered and shaved I adjusted my tie I got there and sat in a pew just in time. 

Bowing my head in prayer as I closed my eyes.I saw the shoe of the man next to me touching my own, I sighed.

 With plenty of room on either side I thought, “Why must our shoes touch?

   It bothered me, his shoe touching mine… But it didn’t bother him much.

 A prayer began: “Our Father” …

 

I thought, “This man with the shoes has no pride…They’re dusty, worn, and scratched even worse, there are holes on the side!”

“Thank You for blessings,” the prayer went on…

 The shoe man said a quiet “Amen.”

I tried to focus on the prayer but my thoughts were on his shoes again.

Aren’t we supposed to look our best when walking through that door?

 “Well, this certainly isn’t it,” I thought, Glancing toward the floor.

Then the prayer was ended… And the songs of praise began.

 The shoe man was certainly loud… Sounding proud as he sang his voice lifted the rafters his hands at times were raised high, The Lord could surely hear the shoe man’s voice from the sky.

 It was time for the offering and what I threw in was steep…

 

I watched as the shoe man reached into his pockets so deep,

I saw what was pulled out and what the shoe man put in, then I heard a soft “clink” as when silver hits tin.

 The sermon really bored me to tears, and that’s no lie…It was the same for the shoe man for tears fell from his eyes.

At the end of the service as is the custom here we must greet new visitors and show them all good cheer.

 But I felt moved somehow and wanted to meet the shoe man,so after the closing prayer I reached over and shook his hand He was old and his skin was dark and his hair was truly a mess. But I thanked him for coming, for being our guest.

He said, “My names’ Charlie, I’m glad to meet you, my friend.”
There were tears in his eyes but he had a large, wide grin

 “Let me explain,” he said wiping tears from his eyes, I’ve been coming here for months and you’re the first to say ‘Hi.’

“I know that my appearance,”Is not like all the rest but I really do try to always look my best, I always clean and polish my shoes before my very long walk,but by the time I get here they’re dirty and dusty, like chalk.”

 My heart filled with pain and I swallowed to hide my tears, as he continued to apologize for daring to sit so near.

 He said, “When I get here I know I must look a sight but I thought if I could touch you then maybe our souls might unite.”

I was silent for a moment knowing whatever was said would pale in comparison so I spoke from my heart, not my head.

 “Oh, you’ve touched me,” I said and taught me in part, that the best of any man is what is found in his Heart.”

 The rest, I thought this shoe man will never know, like just how thankful I really am that his dirty old shoe touched my soul.

  

 Let’s tell old friends that we haven’t forgotten them, and tell new friends we never will, everyone needs a friend… Even acquaintances can become good friends when you take an interest and care for them, and they may respond but even if they don’t as you give you will receive…

We remember even our closest friends were once strangers before they walked into our heart.

  Life is not counted only by the breaths we take or even by the breaths that take our breath away because we would then not appreciate the ordinary occurrences of life and be thankful for them or see the wonder they hold.

 You are special to me and you have made a difference in my life, I respect and Love you in The Lord, and I thank Him that our lives touched.

 Someday we might feel like we have no friends at all but we will always have Jesus, He is our best Friend. Take comfort in knowing that someone out there cares about you and always will.

About Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus

Hi I’m a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and Lord of Lords, my name is Anne. I live in Queensland Australia, I’m very much a People person believing we are all people of worth and unique, so I have much Joy in sharing with people personally and over the Internet. My main focus in life is my wonderful Friendship with Jesus Christ, without Him everything else would be meaningless, I have deep heartfelt thanks and appreciation that I'm a Spiritual Child of The King of Kings and I seek to share with others how truly wonderful that is with the hope they too will realize the same and be set free.
This entry was posted in Messages From The Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Touching Souls

  1. Pingback: Thank You My Blogging Friends for Comments not easily forgotten. « Freedomborn

  2. robinb333 says:

    True beauty always begins from the inside. Anne you have such a beautiful soul and a loving heart. Thank you for posting such a wonderful message. God bless you and your site. Robin

    Like

  3. nuvofelt says:

    God so loved the world…… If only more people would realise that truth. Pride is the most awful of sins. It removes us from the very heart of God who would accept absolutely anyone. This is a lovely post.

    Like

    • freedomborn says:

      Hi nuvofelt I agree fleshy pride or worldly pride is soul destroying but we need to remember there is also Godly Pride and we all need this, we need to accept who we are in Christ Jesus and be proud that we are Children of The King but not because of our goodness but because of His.

      What Worldly Pride is…

      Mark 7:22 Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness:

      1 John 2:15- 17 Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the Love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.

      What Godly Pride is …

      Galatians 6: 4 Each one should understand their own actions. Then they can take Pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to others.

      2 Corinthians 8:24 show these men the proof of your Love and the reason for our Pride in you, so that the Churches can see it.

      2 Corinthians 5:11-12 Because we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade others. It is plain to God what we are, and I hope it is also plain to your conscience. We are giving you an opportunity to take Pride in us not trying to commend ourselves again to you , so that you have an answer for those who take pride in what is seen rather than in what is in the heart.

      Romans 11:13b I take Pride in my Ministry.

      As a Christian I also take Godly Pride in my Ministry to those who are in darkness, and rejoice with those who are not, like you nuvofelt, I hope you received my e-mail ok, is it too long to post?

      Christian Love Anne

      Like

  4. Velta Maes says:

    Thank you, Anne,
    Jesus spent His time among the poor and I am sure that His feet and sandals were alwys dusty and dirty as He walked around the land, touching the people and healing the sick and encouraging those who were bound up by religious tradition.
    He wants us to walk in the path that He did and to touch the lives of everyone that He sends. You are a true friend.
    Thank you for posting this reminded that all men are God’s children.
    Hugs,
    Gramma Velta

    Like

    • freedomborn says:

      Gramma Velta, how come you always make me feel like I’ve got on my best dress and shoes and have pretty bows in my hair… you know what I mean, I feel beautiful but instead of on the outside, I feel beautiful on the inside … Thank you for your Loving caring heart.

      When we are Children of our Heavenly Fathers Heart, we are so blessed to have each other in The Body of Christ.

      Love you so, my dear friend, thank you for walking into my heart.

      Christian Love Anne.

      Like

Share your thoughts we value you and them.

